Project #1 - The Octopus

Right here we go,

I'm going to be using the Jackson Rhoads style guitar.

As its my first build, I'm going to play it safe, and buy a kit online, and modify it a bit myself.

Heres the kit anyway, its cheap, so I won't be too upset if I make a balls out of it.

http://www.themusicking.co.uk/x-build-your-own-electric-guitar-kit-jackson-style

COLOUR :

Now, that only comes in natural, so this is where I step in to add my own touch.

I'm thinking a dark red, maybe something like the "Dakota Red" you can find at :
http://www.manchesterguitartech.co.uk/lacquer.html

To use this, do I need to have one of them things that can spray out the liquid paint evenly? I haven't got one, if so.

I've always loved dark red as a colour, it appeals to me.

I was then thinking of adding some form of silver sparkle to the paint. No idea how that might be done, anybody able to help?

HARDWARE

I was thinking of sticking with the good old silver, and maybe purchasing some bigger tone and volume knobs. I like big.

As for the headstock, it isn't yet modeled, its just a plain old block of wood, so I want a new one.

I think being the guitar it is, it deserves an extravagant headstock.

Now, this might sound like a crazy question, but I'm wondering, could I just saw it off, and glue a new one on? It'll probably effect the nut, but I was going to saw a little bit further up, and cut the exact same length off the new headstock.

ELECTRONICS
As for things like wiring, and electronics, they might be a bit of a problem. What should I expect to have to do, that might require some sort of power tools? Because, simply put, being sixteen, I don't have them.

I'm very patient, and I could work at this for months on end, and I know I wouldn't get frustrated or bored with it, so if some of these power tools are needed just for speed, they're not neccesary. I'd rather have my blood, sweat and guts put into the guitar to be honest.