Page 1 of 2
tl/dr: Spent half a decade playing and learning about music, interned at a studio, played and then got kicked out of a band. I want to make a living off music but I'm not sure what direction I should go in.

I started playing acoustic guitar about 3 years ago in the summer before 10th grade. I picked it up at first just to kill time but I started putting more and more time into it. I got my first electric guitar, an Epi LP, that Christmas and started playing the **** out of that, too. I wanted to form a band, but no one I knew was much of a musician, so I basically just played by my self and with my various instructors.

Then, 2 summers ago, I was chilling alone on the balcony of my grandparents house on the beach of Deleware, rocking out to some new music. I had finally procured the entire Zeppelin discography and was hurriedly absorbing all the lesser known songs I couldn't readily find on Limewire. It was then I heard the Lemon Song. I sat down, and decided then and there I had picked up the wrong instrument. I bought a Mexican-made Fender Jazz bass soon after, and have been playing it almost exclusively ever since.

I took a music theory class at my high school, along with a few dozen vocal lessons from this really chill guy, and learned a good amount of theory. I started actually jamming with other musicians, too. Mostly just poorly contrived covers and hastily written songs, but it was fun.

Last year around December I started interning at this recording studio about a block from where I live. It was cool, I'd basically just sit there and listen to him mix recordings for his clients, or hop on the bass and jam with him on guitar or drums. he'd have me moving equipment and cleaning stuff every once and awhile, and then pay me in small amounts of weed. It was cool, but I couldn't commit enough time due to highschool and never really learned anything about the recording process or music business, so I just stopped going eventually after a few months.