so, i'm a college student majoring in music with an emphasis in jazz bass. naturally, when one thinks of jazz bass, they think of this:

however, living in a dorm and being poor as college students are, i feel it's more reasonable that i would obtain one of these:

on talkbass, i've researched it. they are, naturally, against the idea of doing this. some even say using an EUB hindered their ability to play the AUB when they picked it up. i'd also like to learn to bow eventually and do some stuff like this cool ass biznazz here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJv908RCp8M

in any event, is it worth it to consider getting an EUB, or should i just get an AUB? neither are in my budget for the foreseeable future. but the AUB's that are close in price range to the EUB i'm eyeing are claimed to be shoddy pieces of crap.

is that true that chinese plywood basses that go for around $700 are totally worthless, or is that the "i own 17 basses" pretension of TB talking?

gonna run this by my instructor as well.
#DTWD
I have an acoustic upright, and there is quite the difference between the cheaper EUB and AUB. The main, besides tone, is way you play the instrument. Try both out and you'll notice the difference right away. If you are looking into an EUB, I'd suggest the yamaha silent upright bass. My upright teacher uses it and its pretty solid with its tone and its consistency with an AUB.
Fender '51 Precision Bass
Hofner Verythin LTD Edition Guitar in Walnut w/ Bigsby
Engelhardt ES9 Upright Bass
1968 Trayner YBA 1A MK II Amp
w/ 6x10 cabinet

www.iaminlimbo.com
what kind of AUB do you have? once we get into the $3000 price range, i might as well get an AUB, right?

Engelhardt ES9 Swingmaster Upright Bass

stupid question on my part.
#DTWD
Quote by primusfan
what kind of AUB do you have? once we get into the $3000 price range, i might as well get an AUB, right?

stupid question on my part.