So I'm new to tube amps, and I was wondering, is either better sounding? Or are they the same sound?
Quote by 23:50 inbleach
can't i just eat the fucking cactus?

Quote by WildChicken
Go suck a cat westdyolf!

Quote by Cat Of Pain
So, West...

I hear you'll suck my cat...

Ill suck your cat
PEACE LOVE PANCAKES
call me zach

chocolate chip pancakes!
it depends what you are playing. for metal, a 4x12 cabinet is good for the bass reponse. For rock, about the same story. But for blues, jazz, etc., it doesn't matter really.
The world doesn't revolve around you. If it does, beware. You're probably about to pass out drunk.

The 19 year old who knows his stuff. Most of the time.
If you're deciding between a 2x12 combo and a half stack, get the half stack. Because tube amps are somewhat fragile, it's nice to have a ~50 pound head containing the breakable stuff and a ~100 pound cab that can take a beating, rather than a ~80+ pound beast that you still have to be nice to.
depends what cab you go for with the head, as to what sound you get, or in the case of how many speakers, how spread out the sound is, giving the impression of loudness and a bassier response.
A Peavey 6505 212 combo will sound the same as a 6505 head, but the major difference is in the ability to pair your head with different sounding or differently sized cabs, adding a variety of colors to your sound. For example, you can buy a Valveking 212 combo, or you can buy the Valveking head and buy a nice cab for it and sound much better than the combo, or a crap cab and sound worse than the combo.
Squier Strat (Jazz/JB) - Dunlop Zakk Wylde Crybaby - Boss MIJ HM-2 Distortion - Peavey Valveking 212 - Fender CD60
Quote by westdyolf
So I'm new to tube amps, and I was wondering, is either better sounding? Or are they the same sound?

it depends

does it have the same speakers?
is it a closed back or an open back?
what amp are you talking about?
PSN USERNAME: MetuulGuitarist7
STEAM:MetuulGuitarist7