Okay I am fairly new to theory. I have been playing guitar for a little over a year and just started getting into theory. I know a few scales and modes and chords and I know all of the notes on the fretboard..But I have a problem with application.

I can also use help here:

1. What is a II V I chord progression and what are examples of others?
2. What scales could I use to improvise and what chords would be good with them?
3. And what notes, chords, scales etc. belong to what keys?
4. And what is a good way to practice to get the most out of that practice session?

I feel like I am asking obvious questions but I guess this is the only way to find out haha.

Thanks guys.
1. An Example would be Amin7-D7-Gmaj7
2. Ideally it would be A dorain over the first D Mixolydian oVer the 2nd and G Major or Lydian over the third but for now I would just consider those all G Major.
Originally posted by arrrgg
When my grandpa comes over to visit, after his shower, he walks around naked to dry off
easy way to answer number 3 is this:
in a major scale you have I ii iii IV V vi vii* ... the big roman numerals are major chords. the little ones are minor. the one with the * is diminished
in a minor scale you have i ii* III iv V VI vii*

in C major your chords will apply to the major chord line above = CM, dm, em, FM, GM, am, and b dim

in A minor your chords will apply to the minor chord line above = am, b dim, CM, dm, EM, FM, g dim
Last edited by vjferrara at Sep 29, 2009,
1.- it's I II IV I. you must put the one on the beggining because you begin on one note and resolve (finish) on the same. this first note and resolving note is called root note and that is what tells you the key. the word progression makes it sound hard to understand, but a progression can be defined in theory n00b words as "chors that go one after another". nothing complex in that. You could have a C G Gm F7 E A A#m7 progreesion or just G B C Cm