Hey Ultimate Guitar Community,

I'm a poor medical student who picked up guitar a long time ago but never really had the money to upgrade from my original setup as a hobby player. I have a small marshall starter amp, Washburn Mercury (plays really well for a starter guitar great action, stays in tune, very versatile), and a pocket POD. However I'm looking to start accumulating gear as I get closer and closer to making money so I have a few options I'm looking at and I'd like some advice.

I have three options staring me down right now. The most feasible is a Fender Super champ combo amp, I don't need anything huge right now since I'll probably have to play with head phones anyway in my apt. But I have found some great prices on a Fender Highway One strat and Gretsch Electromatics (which i think give a cool Beatles or bluesy sound depending on what you play through). So really what I'm asking given my poor mans gear what would be the next step if I can't afford to buy something for the next two years. Would it be worth it to wait on the Highway One or should I wait to get a higher end strat? are they really that much better?

My music styles are really varied (classic rock, metal, blues, modern stuff).
Last edited by greyman21 at Sep 29, 2009,
hmmm when you say metal how much metal are we talking? because i love the electromantics.
get the superchamp since you say that youre still happy with your current guitar and you say its very versatile and an amp affects tone more than a guitar does
peavey vypyr 30
yamaha starter guitar
Agile AL-2000 Tribal Blue

R.I.P REV!

A God Has Fallen,
R.I.P. Dio!

why Scorpions Why!?!
gretches are great i have one but when you turn up the distortion they are terribly noisy they also are generally to twangy for metal just a warning
Guitars
Gretsch corvette
Epiphone SG special

Effects
RP350
big muff pi
crybaby wah
RC-2 loop station

Amps
Spider II 15W
Bugera 333XL 212