Hi guys,
I am a guitarist but have quite a bit of experience on the bass, as i had to come up with the transcriptions, and semi-write original music for the bassist in my band.
Anyway, my best mate wants to start playing bass, so i said i would give him a few lessons, just to start him off.
So, Bassists, what would you teach to a person just starting out, like scales, songs, etc.
He has no musical experience.
Cheers
Rolling it back, keeping it simple.

Are YOU from Curtin University?
If so, CLICK HERE!
First thing I would do is show him what are those little dots on the fretboard if he has no musical experience!

Then major & minor scales. C maj was the first scale I ever learnt. At least it will give him some understanding of how a scale is made up (hopefully)

Smoke On The Water is quite an easy song to play when its stripped down. a G on the bass
Of course teach how to play with fingers... That is the first thing you should really teach
Metal is like a apple, no-one likes the core.
I'm not terribly experienced, but I taught a girl I know bass for a little while. First thing I would do, just teach basic playing technique: fretting, plucking, maybe hammer ons and pull offs because they're not too difficult. Let them spend a few days to a week alone with the instrument practicing those things until they're comfortable with it. Then I'd teach tab reading, maybe some easy songs (Feel Good, Inc by Gorillaz, Bulls on Parade by Rage Against the Machine, and 7 Nation Army are some good starter songs, but also let them learn some songs of their choosing) and then work into scales and things.
Schecter Hellraiser V1 / Schecter Stiletto Extreme 4 / Gallien Krueger 400RB / Hartke Transporter 4x10 / Digitech BP200 / Pod Studio GX
Quote by WibbleWobble
First thing I would do is show him what are those little dots on the fretboard if he has no musical experience!