So...I bought a Peavey Predator EXP Plus two days ago...but I currently don't have the financial possibilities to buy an amp; I'll buy one in two weeks or so. Until than, I still wanna practice a bit on my guitar and I know that there are people in similar situations, like mine, who connect their guitars directly to their computer, so the sound can come out of the speakers. Of course it's not the same deal, an amp is an amp and is the best choice. But in this time while I don't have one yet, I'd like to use my PC as one. I'm a beginner in all this, so I don't know pretty much. I bought one of those adapters though, so I can connect my guitar to my sound card. I connected it to Line-In, the blue one. I don't have any sound though. So there are definitely some settings and stuff, that I missed. And I guess I need some software too...for some effects and all. I'd like a recommendation in that, too.
So...will you please offer me some asistance? Thank you in advance, waiting for your reply.
Try guitar amp emulation softwares like Amplitube or Guitar Rig. You won't be able to get a decent sound via Windows sound mixer anyway... I hope your adapter support ASIO drivers or there will be quite a big lag added to your sound.
G͔͓̅e͎͉̟̽ͬ͐̎̃͐ͨͅå͈͖͕̹̤̟̐̏͋ͅr̩͕̫̰̗s̹̳̼ͥ̒̍̄̅ͥ̚:

ESP Standard Eclipse I CTM VW
ESP LTD Deluxe H-1001
ESP LTD Deluxe Viper-1000 STBC
ESP Edwards E-EX-100STD
Warmoth Paulcaster "Tiger"
Tanglewood TW170 AS
Vox Tonelab ST
Blackstar HT-1R

I'm pretty sure my guitar is plugged into the pink input, try that dude. Then again, I'm running through a pedal first, so that might make a difference

Quote by MightyAl
How do you physically download an album? Like run your computer off a dynamo on an exercise bike?
Yes, you're right, probably Windows won't help me too much.
But the thing is that I don't get any sound for now. I definitely blanked over some stuff.
Of course, software to improve the sound, but first of all, how do I get sound?