So, I really want to write some deathcore (in b4 people complaining) I love the drums, the riffs, the vocals, all of it. It's groovy to listen to. I've been playing for nearly 3 years, and I'm starting to notice my compositional skills are horrible and it is EXTREMELY frustrating. I try and listen to other bands, analyze there structure, yet.. i draw blanks coming up with my own stuff.

Any help? Advice? It realy drives me nuts.
My gear
Ibanez RG7321
Jackson Warrior WRXT *FS/FT*
Jasmine J35
Squier Fender P-Bass
Ibanez TBX150H
Crate 4x12
Fender Rumble 60

Part of UG's 7 STRING LEGION
Find someone who appreciates the same music you do to collaborate with. Also, don't limit yourself to one genre. Keep writing and record as much as possible, even if it's on your cell phone or voice mail or whatever.
I try but it's like... argh! I watch countless vids, I sit there trying to string together notes that sound good together but everything I do just sounds horrible. I don't know what to do that would be beneficial to composing because I just get so frustrated I quit. I can open up a song on gp, take anywhere between 5 minutes to an hour and get it down pat, but when I try and come up with something of my own... I just give up.
My gear
Ibanez RG7321
Jasmine J35
Squier Fender P-Bass
Ibanez TBX150H
Crate 4x12
Fender Rumble 60

Quote by ReinventingEvil
but everything I do just sounds horrible.

Then you're making Deathcore.

Try using scales such as Augmented and Harmonic Minor.
Quote by aldo47
(i thought hot strings would make me finger faster.)
so i tried to set my strings on fire by putting a lighter on the high e string n it cut it so wtf??!!? i passed the lighter rrly slowly by it for less then a sec n then it snapped...
Quote by Balmazer
Then you're making Deathcore.

Try using scales such as Augmented and Harmonic Minor.

Quoted for truth, on both counts.