I am a guitarist (as most of us here are), but I am starting to get interested in growling/singing and the such. I do know the basics (exhale do not inhale, use your diaphram, etc.) I know it does take your throat somewhat, and it takes practice to make your growls better, but I have some questions.

How do you get/have a high pitched scream/growl like a Trevor Strnad or Chuck Schuldiner?
How often should I practice?
How long should my throat actually feel uncomfortable for?
Is there any one certain technique or rule that every vocalist/screamer/growler follow?

Thanks, very much appreciated.
Quote by MetalOblivion93
The Philosopher = Smart
The Philosopher = Win

Quote by sashki
Slayer wrote a negative song about you because you considered the possibility of them writing a positive song.

JOIN THE PS3 ALLIANCE GROUP
Well, i don't do much heavy metal sort of growls, but i suddenly realized how to do that nice bluesy throaty sound, and a friend of mine says its basically the same thing... just a bit differently voiced.

I take in a deep breath, tilt my head up just a bit and sort of make the back of my tongue puff up... If that makes sense. When you sing the note, push it with your chest and contract your throat a bit.

Hope that helps bud.
Jesus wouldn't give you the sweat off of his balls if you were dying of thirst.
Quote by Code-E
God, you've gotta be UG's only moron!

Quote by magnum1117
that's right,you certainly are UG's only moron.

Quote by necrosis1193
Read the moron's posts, ironically enough he knows what he says.
Growling thread. It's in the Metal forum and there's a ton of knowledge in it. Great vocalists as well, they can help you.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
For high pitched screams open your mouth bigger and do almost as if you were singing a higher note clean.