If I used a Squier Bullet Strat guitar with a Peavey Vypyr 15 amp, is it possible to have a decent metal tone? I've heard everywhere that Squiers can't play metal, but with the Peavey Vypyr amp is it possible to have a good metal tone?

Oh and the reason why I picked a cheap guitar and a cheap amp is because this is for my first guitar/amp.
Last edited by dsan224 at Oct 4, 2009,
You mean tone right? Tone? Not sound but tone? Please tell me you meant tone.
I have no sig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Quote by Frets-On-Fire
You mean tone right? Tone? Not sound but tone? Please tell me you meant tone.

Lol I mean tone, sorry I'm new to guitar so I forget when I'm saying tone or sound.
It will be capable of 'a' metal tone. It will not be 'a good' metal tone. But that's to be expected, you get what you pay for. Beginner gear will not sound like the professional's gear, if it did then nobody would bother to use the professional gear. So yeah, you will be able to get a high-gain tone out of that guitar and amp. Just don't expect it to be anything other than what it is; a basic beginner's tone.
Yes, I know everything. No, I can't play worth a damn.
A child is trafficked and sold for sex slavery every 30 seconds. Support Love146.
Quote by MrFlibble
It will be capable of 'a' metal tone. It will not be 'a good' metal tone. But that's to be expected, you get what you pay for. Beginner gear will not sound like the professional's gear, if it did then nobody would bother to use the professional gear. So yeah, you will be able to get a high-gain tone out of that guitar and amp. Just don't expect it to be anything other than what it is; a basic beginner's tone.

Will I be able to get a good drop C breakdown tone from it?

Like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2bZqjontass

2:53 to the end.

At least something vaguely similar?