I just read the chapter about it on Stephen Hawking's book(A Brief History of Time) and I just don't understand some aspects(I mean, I understand what he's saying, but not why it has to be true). If someone could explain this to me like I'm a super beginner to physics, that would be greatly appreciated.
There's a maths module at my uni on special relativity, I really wanted to do it but it clashed with my other modules
It's the theory you only tell to your special relatives.

|_|0|_|
|_|_|0|
|0|0|0|
▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄
Quote by Holy Katana
Special relativity is easy as hell compared to general relativity.

Pff, that's cake compared to relative generality.
E-married to ilikepirates

Quote by bloodtrocuted93

How are you so fucking awesome at music?

>¦<
¦
Hawking lies about a bunch of stuff.

He's like Shakespeare, when something doesn't exist and he wants to talk about it, he just makes it up.

Go read Landau's stuff on theoretical physics. One of my professors told me that I should read the thermodynamics one, for a chipset design course (fluid mechanics+heat sinks=most difficult schoolwork I've ever done), and I ended up getting the full series.

Probably the best physics stuff.
The laws of physics are the same for any observers in uniform motion relative to one another, and the speed of light, c, is a constant in a vacuum no matter what. it also defines the mass energy equivalence law, strengthens the idea of distortion of time and light at speed, and clarifies the idea of inertial frame of reference.
its a lot easier to understand with diagrams, you can probably just google "simple explanation of special relativity" too
Yeah, the laser clock on a train thing and the astronaut examples always helped me.
WTLTL 2011
Quote by guitarhero_764
What does he lie about?

Basically: "Wormholes are the only possible methods of time travel. Their use is generally limited to forwards movement."

Uhm...