Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for six years now. I developed this habit where I rest my pinky finger on the pick guard or body of the guitar (since now I have no pick guard).

Recently I was informed that this was a terrible idea and can greatly hinder your playing...

Is this why I can't learn to sweep pick/string skip accurately, etc? ...

Thanks for your time,

Jason.
Guitar: Ibanez RG321MH with EMG 85/60
Amp: Peavey 6505+ 1x12 combo
Musical styles: Progressive rock, thrash metal, post-hardcore.
I do that to, and can string skip fine.
Quote by Jesus_Dean
There's bound to be a drummer here that can help you, otherwise check YouTube for tutorial vids.
Quote by yoduh4077
MY TIME HAS COME.
Quote by Jesus_Dean
^^^See! Told ya so!
I can do it, but repetatively I tend to start mucking up...
Wow. Thanks for the heads up...

How did you get over doing it? It's almost impossible to try and pick without doing it for me... it feels so alien.

Suppose in the end all I can do is keep at it.
PS: Mods, feel free to close this thread...
Quote by Jason_Clement
Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for six years now. I developed this habit where I rest my pinky finger on the pick guard or body of the guitar (since now I have no pick guard).

Recently I was informed that this was a terrible idea and can greatly hinder your playing...

Thanks for your time,

Jason.

its fine to touch the guitar as long as you dont put downward pressure and put it in a fixed position.
Quote by Jason_Clement

How did you get over doing it? It's almost impossible to try and pick without doing it for me... it feels so alien.

Keep at it and eventually you'll be able to make the switch. Play slowly and get used to finding the strings without a reference point.
This space foreclosed, due to the ailing economy.
Quote by Jason_Clement