So I've recently morphed into a Blues guitarist, sick of slinging power chords every which where and sporting easy repetitive solos. I've more or less mastered the minor pentatonic scale and all of it's shapes, and can improvise in any key exceptionally well. So my question is, what next? Should I learn to solo within individual chords with the pentatonic during songs or wait to master that before taking on the major scale? Or perhaps there's another trick I can learn in the realm of the pentatonic scale? Keep in mind I'm completely self taught so may not have a grasp on everything as much as I think I do, if that's the case, please point it out.
Last edited by CL/\SH at Oct 6, 2009,
learn all the shapes for minor and major scales, and start playing with modes, and throwing in accidentals to spice things up.

go go gadget guitar player.
Completely forget the pentatonic scale! NAO!

Or at least just don't abuse it. learn major and minor and then buy a theory book and figure out how modes work.
I've already started reading into modes and how they work, but I'm curious here. If someone could elaborate on this real quick... Lemme just talk about Ionian for now, and from what I know, Ionian is in fact the major scale. So if I learned (or figured out) all the shapes in Ionian, they would all be the shapes of the major scale, correct? And so, I could learn every shape for every mode to further expand my soloing ability? Just tell me if this all correct or not, so I know if I'm right.
Quote by enselmis
Completely forget the pentatonic scale! NAO!

Or at least just don't abuse it. learn major and minor and then buy a theory book and figure out how modes work.

Do not listen to this. Terrible advice.

Keep on with the pentatonics. You say you've mastered them, I assume you mean you don't stick to boxes or anything. Good. Major and minor scales only add 2 notes, so work out how to use those over chords.