Page 1 of 2
I've been playing guitar for about 5-6 months now and I'm looking to buy a half stack with a price range of about 600-800 bucks. I was looking on musiciansfriend.com and I found one with a Marshall MG100HFX amp head and a MG412 cabinet for 649.99. Is this a good deal?
They aren't bad amps...if you can find them super cheap used. But I wouldn't pay full price for one...you can get tons better for that money. Whats your MAX budget? Will you go used? What genres do you play? Other gear? Closest major city?
Prepare yourself for all the Blackstar HT5 recommendations and the MG boo-calling to come
Thats the same half stack i have and i like it alot... but it didn't pay that much for it
✠I use emotion for the many and reserve reason for the few
✠Adolf Hitler✠
I payed £220 for my head and cab. They're not bad, Just beware the tube elitist retards that will be all like OMFG NEVA BUY DA MG SERRIIIEEES
Quote by Jody LeCompte
"My personal preference has always been for a rack unit. One less thing to play dance dance revolution with on your pedalboard"

Are You a PROG-HEAD? I am.
I got that halfstack, recently sold the head and kept the cab. Now I'm looking at the MA heads to replace it.

But yeah, since you're quite new, I'd say it'll do you well for a good while.
thats true people on this site have a habit of saying that anything is bad unless it is a mesa , blackstar , krank and basically anything above an average persons price range .
they dnt take into account the fact that a lot of the lower price range amps will be very good for there price .
i would suggest something differant , i had an mg and didn't like it .
people will say spider 3's are bad but there genuinly not , u can get a huge range of sound out of them and they have lots of features plus i dnt think they are above your price range .
i have a laney lx120rh half stack and its really good for the price .

YES a blackstar would be amazing , but we dont all have the money .