I just started learning to play the guitar. I am going to buy an acoustic guitar. How hard is it to write your own song? What do songs consist of (chords)
Songs don't necessarily have to have a certain song structure or anything, just play what sounds good.

So ridiculously easy to answer your question.
Quote by Zinnie
god placed the fossils in earth to confuse the humans into thinking that earth is older than it actually is, therefore, making men try and think outside the box....

just kidding, there is no god

www.youtube.com/user/andrew12398
only 12 notes man.. its not just about your chords and melody its all been done before what sets you apart is your rhythm and how you put it all together... dont rush!
song writing isnt something you cant sit down and say youre just going to write a song, you can try but the best stuff will just come from the flow of playing... play what sounds good and just think what you can do that hasnt been done, thats where writing becomes exciting because its a mission to create something that hasnt been done in the history of the 12 notes we use... good luck and just have fun with it, it all comes with time... and if you keep with it youll surprise yourself...

one tip is to stick to your scales though: Cmaj is obviously the easiest so from there you get your C, Dm, Em, F, G, Am, and Bdim... any of those chords work together because they each use 3 of the same 7 notes within the Cmajor scale...

hope this helps
Most people develop a formula of some sort, but it takes years of ceaseless practice. Turns out there are no shortcuts for artistic greatness yet.
Chords, riffs, melodies, rhythms, effects, anything that sounds good.

Try and imagine what a good melody or piece of music might sound like, then try and work it out on guitar. Or you could just try improvising something, but I prefer the former by far.