I want to buy a new amp preferably a combo tube amp anywhere from 40-75 watts. I'm willing to spend around $1,800 give or take a few hundred, but really the cheaper the better. I'm really into Slayer, Opeth, Cannibal Corpse, Nevermore, Devildriver, Behemoth, Bloodbath, and Nile.

Things to consider

• High gain
  • Good chug when palm muting
  • Cleans don't matter
  • Needs to have crisp tight distorted sound
  • Don't care how many channels it has
  • Needs to work well with 7-String guitars
  • Don't care if it has reverb

I'm open to other suggestions. If you do suggest a head provide a good cab to match it and I'm not completely stuck on only 40-75 watt range but I do want to be able to be quiet when needed. I don't really have access to a load of amps to try out so what I buy is going to be based on your input and online reviews.
I'm not an expert on high-gain amps, but I think considering you budget and your needs a head + 2x12 will open up many more options for you, especially if you can find a nice closed-back cab.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Solder fume huffer σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Electronic Audio Experiments
id say the Carvin V3 2x12 ~$900 new

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
I'm open to heads+2x12s but i kind of want it to be somewhat portable but if the tone is that much more amazing then I'll be willing to toss out the combo idea and get a head and 2x12
in that wattage range, a single rec, most amps that are good for 7 strings are circa 120watts
the best thing to do though is get a head and a good 2x10 bass cab(or 2x12 but 2x10 is more common for bass cab i believe)
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Last edited by justinb904 at Oct 7, 2009,
Quote by Limpchest