G'day all, basically, I'm looking for a book to try and expand my playing somewhat, but I don't really know where to start. I think a problem is I don't know specifically what I want to improve on, I just have a rough idea of some things I'm not good at (and I don't know if I can get anything to help me with these anyway)

Primarily I guess I'd like to try and work on improv, with a view to solos and to walking lines, and I need to do work on my notation reading (i can read it fine and I know all the noes in the bass clef and on my bass, just putting the 2 together and playing is difficult). For the notation I figured I could just use say Guitar Pro with the tab off, but i'm hoping to find something a bit more structured to guide me a little. Finally, I guess I'd also like to try and at least get some more theory down in relation to playing in different styles, as right now I play primarily rock, with just a bit of funk or blues thrown in for good measure.

Like I say, I don't know if there's any books out there that can help towards any of these, but I've got a lot of spare time at the minute so I thought I'd look into it.

Cheers!
"Stuff good bass players should know" by Glenn Letsch is a pretty good book it deals with a lot off different aspects of the bass not just playing it.
Gear:

Fender Jaguar Bass
Ashdown MAG300H Head
Ashdown 410 T Deep Cab
Epiphone Thunderbird
Squier P/J Bass
SKAK20BA Practice Bass Amp
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showpost.php?p=14597115&postcount=203

and

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showpost.php?p=14597197&postcount=204

The list needs a revision or two, which I will do in the new FAQ. If you need anymore recommendations, let me know. I have more bass books than any human really needs.
PM me if you want me to hook you up with a real book.

what you're going to want to do is:

1) get a real book
2) obtain jazz tunes of all kinds
3) transcribe, transcribe, transcribe
4) ???
5) PROFIT