Hey whats up..
I started playing last year, I know I shouldn't be even thinking about sweeping but I really like this technique and the motion felt easy for me (even though the motion is the easier part)

Well, the thing is.
Can you hear my recordings and tell me how/what to improve? Don't be that harsh, I started playing last year..
Last edited by IHeartMyCrybaby at Oct 8, 2009,
They arent too bad ,sound ok to me ,its just that your volumne on your guitar seems quite low ,the tones ok ,but the backing track is really loud ,like the drums over power your sound so its hard to hear ,you should record them again without a backing track to really test but for playing for a year Id say there pretty good. What kind of shapes are learning?
Your sweeps are very good for having only played for one year. However, I can tell that you need some work on fluidity. Every so often you can hear a "gap" or "break" in between notes. It's probably when you turn your hand and begin picking in the other direction. I can also tell from your picking at the end that you need work on your rhythm.

Remember, (now for the ultimate Guitar Technique forum cliche, drum roll please...) speed is a byproduct of accuracy. If you can't do it cleanly and accurately slowly, what chance do you have of doing it cleanly and accurately swiftly? If you practice something 1000 times with poor technique, that 1001th time isn't going to magically be perfect. You need to do it perfectly from the start and build upon that. That may sound like a tall order, but if you slow anything down enough, you can play it perfectly the first time.