I was wondering how long it should take me to be able to 'shred'. Since the end of summer I've been practicing exercises and I gonna say they've only increased about 20% (i'm not really sure). Is this good? bad? what? I feel like it's really slow. Also seeing as how I started practicing correctly at the end of june i feel like i should be much faster. I've been playing for about a year and four months, and i play around 8 hours a day. Of that time i spend an hour on technique. I don't want to be the fastest player, but I want to be able to play fast.
so how long does it take to shred? I saw an internet post that said you could play scarified by racer x in 6 months without being able play fast what so ever. is that actually true?
Playing fast is an art in itself. You'll be able to shred a standard major scale in about 6 months if you practise correctly but to really get the patterns, the runs and various licks clean and correct can take a long time.

I don't know if somebody else has also experienced this but sometimes my speed just increases overnight. One day I'm struggling to play at 190 bpm and been practising at this tempo for a month or so and suddenly the next day I nail the run.

Have patience keep on practising. It'll come to you.

And the Scarified thing is bull****. Really depends on you. If you practise day in and day out then yes probably. But that solo is not all about speed, it's about getting the dynamics right.
ok thanks. by the way, do you practice licks to build speed or excersices? should i just learn some fast licks, then practice them every day?
Don't worry about playing fast, but more so playing accurately.

Practise scales, and do them at a comfortable bpm, then increase when you can play perfectly, also its really good to play with a metronome.

Eventually, your fingers will get used to that pattern and you'll be able to play them at fast speeds without doing much thinking. It still requires alot of practice.