Page 1 of 2
I just started playing the guitar a while ago and I still don't know that much about the theory terms.

I've read somewhere over the internet that there's a sign and the beggining of the song, or something like that, that notates what value does the beat get (so it might even be a half, eighth etc.).

But that person on the music store I've been to some days ago when I bought a pedal told me (asked some stuff about these terms) that a beat as always the quarter and that there's no other "value".

Is that true?

And also, I know that it's BPM (so basically, when you speak in actual terms [you can't just say "beat" without having a real value to associate it with], a 120 beat rate, for example, would be two beats per second), but that person insisted upon just saying that it's a "beat" and that you can't call it with seconds and that "116" is "116 beats" or some other thing that basically tells you nothing.

It is Beats-Per-Minute, right?
Last edited by UserN123 at Oct 9, 2009,
Quote by Xenogis
that person isn't very smart

why dont you just answer his ****ing question instead of making snide ass remarks?

You are right its BPM. Im not sure if u mean like 4/4 time or like different time changes
I like burritos
there is a time signature at the start of the piece. The top number asys how many beat in a bar, The bottom number denotes what is a beat.

if the bottom number is a 4 it means a quarter note, if it is an 8 it means on eight note.

It is Beats Per Minute. I think what he was meaning to say is that a beat can be any kind of note value. For example 120 BPM when the time signature is 6/8, in a whole minute there would be 20 bars. While if the time signature is 4/4 there would be 30 bars in a minute.
Last edited by mdwallin at Oct 10, 2009,
I suggest that person looks into something called compound meters.
Quote by Xenogis
that person isn't very smart

Agreed.