I have been playing for about 6 months now.

My dreadnought is not comfortable so I always play my electric.

I am looking at some parlour style guitars because they fit me better.

Will I be bummed with the sound?

should I go acoustic-electric to make up for it?

any suggestions would be great.

Rock and blues.

Looking for $500-800 USD

Thanks.
I am in the exact same boat! I love my even larger Yamaha and the sound of a full bodies guitar, and though I am 6'4" and 300 pounds, I want a smaller unit. I have recently played a dozen or so parlour style...and the comfort and playability are there...but sound is lacking. AAHHH! Should have started with one. Good luck, keep looking. I have found Martin and Parkwood (if you can swing it) have really good sound for a smaller acoustic. Most of all though...keep playing and stay positive!
RS
there are a couple smaller guitar sizes that are larger than parlors. taylor calls the standard sizes grand auditorium and grand concert, martin calls them OM and OOO. i'd say that if you can go a little bigger than a parlor it will be better for rock and blues.

btw, i've played a couple parlors that had deeper bodies than normal and had more sound. one was a larrivee and the other was a blueridge, although the larrivee was the winner to me in that area.

strangely enough i find some jumbos easier to play than dreads, probably because of the smaller waist.
Quote by patticake
there are a couple smaller guitar sizes that are larger than parlors. taylor calls the standard sizes grand auditorium and grand concert, martin calls them OM and OOO. i'd say that if you can go a little bigger than a parlor it will be better for rock and blues.

btw, i've played a couple parlors that had deeper bodies than normal and had more sound. one was a larrivee and the other was a blueridge, although the larrivee was the winner to me in that area.

strangely enough i find some jumbos easier to play than dreads, probably because of the smaller waist.