Hey, I'm kind of a beginner-intermediate player, looking to get my first guitar (I've been borrowing a friend's for about six months). My previous band is currently on possibly permanent hiatus, and I've just started a new band - a post-rock/post metal project - and I have literally no idea what kind of guitars to look at for this kind of music. The previous band was a fairly generic metal band, so I was looking at ESPs, Ibanezes, Deans and the like, and now I have no clue what to look at.

I'm looking for a guitar that has good clean tone, good distortion and if possible, holds low tuning (B Standard/Drop A would be ideal, but something that can comfortably sit at Drop C would be alright).

My price range could in theory go up to £400 (About $640)but that would take a while of saving, whereas one about £300 ($480ish) one would be something I could get comparatively soon.

1. Any suggestions?
2. Any chance I'd be able to keep looking at the same guitars as when I was looking for something metal-y, or should I change my priorities?
As far as your sound goes your gonna want to invest money in effects pedals and a good amp more than you would a guitar...For your style I suggest a guitar with low action and EMG's coz that's what I have :p

When I went to the states last year I got a Schecter Hellraiser FR for £425 which was $850 at the time... I would go for anything metal...with EMG's thinish neck (ibanez suck tho)

In terms of an amp I have a Marshall AVT100 (generaly standard amp) BUT I have effects and not those ****e effects on the amp I mean 3rd party effects....so you get your nice marshall tone plus some nice effects for whatever...I just use distortion with a delay on it.

Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
ESP LTD MH-1000NT
Marshall AVT100
Boss ME-70

Quote by stratdud39
Thank you for your words of wisdom.
almost any guitar would work for post rock, I wouldn't recommed EMGs or most active pickups, though.