Ive been playing for about two years now and just now im starting to wonder about the actual skill that goes into picking. Ive been mostly learning to read notes and improvise. I wanted to know about sweep picking and alternate picking. when i sweep pick i start off at low e with a downstroke and sweep to high e or which ever other higher string and im not sure about the alternate picking im supposed to do when i get to the higher string and im going back up to low e. Do i pick down, and then when im coming back up just pick every string with an upstroke. Also, when doing arpeggios are you supposed to hammer on everytime or pick every note (for example would a 12 and 17 triplet be hammered on or would you pick 12 17 12? One more thing, with alternate picking. I dont want to develop any bad habits that i havent already so can someone explain when to do upstrokes and downstrokes, double upstrokes, double downstrokes etc.? It seems that most videos i watch, no one focuses on the picking techniques used. thanks a lot
Last edited by todrlz41 at Oct 10, 2009,
About that "when to do" part I would say do what feels right to you. However i would recomend always doing Pinch harmonics downwards xD just kidding.
Everything dosen't have to be perfect what makes your playing "flow" the most is the right for you.
-I always hammer/pulloff the high E notes, but many people pick them. I suggest you do what you like the sound of best.

-I generally use the stroke that corresponds to whether I'm on a downbeat or an upbeat, but sometime I'll start a downbeat with, say, an upstroke so that I can outside pick everything for the better feel/tone.
Nice paragraphing, man...