Hi, im an electric guitar beginner, and i was wondering if you can give me any suggestions on techniques i can use to make riffs that fit together well. I know about power chords, but i just cant piece em together right, to make a working song. I also want to learn other techniques, so i can make really cool-sounding riffs. any help would be appreciated.
mainly rock/metal type stuff. you know, the sorta stuff that'll sound good through an electric guitar
Learn some theory, and use your ears. For example an F powerchord to a C powerchord to a G powerchord sounds cool, that's a IV-I-V progression in the key of C. You probably don't know what I'm talking about, start out by reading the Crusade articles here on UG or asking your teacher if you have one.
You probably want to learn more in general before writing your own material. If you're still at the power chord stage, chances are you haven't tried playing songs written by other artists.

If you're determined to write songs w/guitar don't let me stop you! There's a great guide by ZeGuitarist that you should check out - it has just about everything covered.
i do know how to play quite a few songs on my guitar. i can play all the rhythm parts to 3's & 7's by queens of the stone age, for example. as well as a few other chunks of different songs. Ty for all your help. ill try and look round for more . any more help would be greatly appreciated.
take riffs you already know and swap the notes around within that structure and vary your right hand technique to come up with new ideas.

the most audibly digestable stuff is often the simplest riffs.