I'm gonna/wanna buy a new laptop.

BEFORE you say searchbarrr, I used searchbar already and couldn't find someone with a similar situation to me.

I'll try to keep this brief as most of my other threads have been walls o text.

please do give your insights.

What Do I Need?

1. Yes, I'll primarily be using the lappy for recording. I mean, that'll be the most intensive thing I'll be doing. I'll need a firewire port, whether 4 or 6 pin.

2. I do NOT need to watch movies/dvds on my computer and I don't see myself doing intensive graphic work/designing/anythinging. Maybe just a little video editing, but no photoshop or the like.

3. I do NOT plan on playing intensive games. apparently, I don't need a separate graphics processor? or do I still?

I'm not a very techie person, but from all I've ever read and heard, I'll probably wait til Windows 7 is out and tested and NOT get close to Vista. I know the beta or something has been out, but I just want to be sure. xD

I don't understand much either about 64 or 32 bit. What I do understand is there might be compatibility problems if I get 64 bit. I understand 64 bit can get more done, though. BUT, do I need 64 bit for what I'll be doing? At most I have 8 tracks on Adobe Audition. I won't be recording an orchestra or anything.

I guess it'd be more helpful if I explained my situation. xD again I'm using Adobe Audition now, but it slows down a lot. Which annoys the hell out of me of course. I have a Dell Inspiron 6000, 1.5 Ghz processor, 2GB RAM. Please don't get uber technical if you're gonna talk about these, my only knowledge is that a fast processor and a lot of RAM is good.

Am I Open to a Macbook Pro?

if I can't find a good laptop for my needs that's at a lower price than the 13 inch MP, then yes. But I want to explore my options first.