I'm trying to train my ear to know each interval. I'm reading the crusades and doing my first bit of homework . I've put about an hour into it and what I do is only have it play major 2nd, Dim 5th, and major 7th. I started with just hearing the interval from high to low, then low to high, and now I have both directions. I only get about 65 percent. I'm starting to feel like maybe I'm hardly improving. Or does this sound like normal improvement. It's my first time doing any ear training if that helps you decide if I am actually learning. Thanks.
I suggest picking up the book Training The Ear by Armen Donelian. Great book filled with exercises. You should sing the intervals too. First play the intervals on say a piano and then afterwards sing them. When you get comfortable doing this, practice without a piano. Start with diatonic intervals and then move onto chromatic intervals. Why are you starting out with a diminished 5th interval?
Quote by thsrayas
Why did women get multiple orgasms instead of men? I want a river of semen flowing out of my room to mark my territory.

You can play a shoestring if you're sincere
- John Coltrane
My logic is I picked an interval that is only a few steps from unison (I'd pick unison, but that's really easy) then I picked one that is in the middle (in terms of how many steps from unison) then one almost an octave (again, octave seems kinda easy too otherwise i'd pick that). Does that not make sense? Should I just train using all 12? It just felt hopeless at first is all. I'll try singing. I am a college student, unless i need to buy another book I'd rather not. I have a huge pile already calling my name that I need to read.
It does make sense but I don't think it's the most practical way of doing it. As I said start with diatonic intervals, and perhaps pick some out. A major 3rd, perfect 4rd and a perfect 5th for example. Singing is definitely a must, it will make the interval recognition much easier.