This is something that I'm a tad bit confused about.

So let's say I have a D Harmonic Minor scale, the notes are D, E, F, G, A, A#, and C#.

Would the second mode contain the same notes, but you would just start on E? So it would be E, F, G, A, A#, C#, and D?

Just like how regular D Minor is D, E, F, G, A, A#, and C, and then E Locrian is E, F, G, A, A#, C, D?

I found a thread concerning my questions, so if a mod or someone just wants to close this...
Last edited by TatarSalad2 at Oct 12, 2009,
yeah second mode starts with next key in the scale if im not mistaken.
Quote by jjennings216
i'd go gay for hendrix 128 he's fricken hillarious.

Quote by sadistic_monkey
To me, Jonas Brothers sound identical to Dragonforce. So I'm not sure what you've just proved.
D Harmonic Minor is D E F G A B♭ C♯. You can come up with names for the other modes of it, by naming it by what the mode relative to D natural minor would be, and then listing the alteration (whatever scale degree the C♯ becomes). The only one that's commonly useful is A phrygian dominant (A B♭ C♯ D E F G).