Hey guys

Been looking at amps again and the blackstar HT5 came up

I was just wondering, being a low wattage tube amp how loud would it be compared to a solid state 50 watt?

also, if i buy this amp, would it be worth buying a decent multi fx unit to go with it so i can get a range of tones (i.e. the Line 6 Floor Pod Plus)

cheers guys
it's supposed to be very loud for a 5watt amp, you can gig with it but it would need to be hooked up to a pa, a good multifx pedal would be a good idea.
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
I played it last night. It is very loud. Can't speak to Pod.

lol *** do u mean cant speak to POD

yes i am a noob lawl
It is loud but not as loud as my old Peavey Backstage 50 (50Watt Solid State)
Ibanez RG1570 (06) LTD Truckster (07) Fender USA Standard Strat (97) Blackstar HT5s ,TC Polytune, SHO Clone, Russian Muff pi, EHX Small Clone, MXR Carbon Copy, Marshall Reflector, MXR 10 Band EQ
The wattage between the different amps are rated somewhat differently, which is based on how far they can push the amp before it gives out soft clipping.

For example, a 5 watt Blackstar may have a different level of volume compared to a Marshall. The Blackstar might clip at 5, whereas the Marshall might clip at 7. Though both are 5 watts, the Blackstar will probably have more power available to put out more volume compared to the Marshall in this case.

Its even more difficult to compare it against a solid state.
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
Last edited by ragingkitty at Oct 13, 2009,
50 watts is roughly twice as aloud as 5. But wattage is power not volume. Its based on when the amp breaks up. So it will get loud not as loud as a 50 watt but maybe a 20 watt solid state amp. But it won't stay clean.
Agile AL3000
Douglas WRL90
SX SR1 STD Plus
J&D Strat
Squier Tele
Sammick TR2
Douglas Draco