Hi all I've been singing for a couple of years now, and I have a bass-baritone range from about D2-G4, although I can reach a low C or a high Bb with some effort.

Now, a lot of my higher register can be quite strained and trebly, particularly when I'm singing softly, and my head voice is generally weak and scratchy.

Right now I'm living in a shared room in student dorms so it's practically out of the question to practice my belting, so I've been reduced to singing softly.

My questions are; what can I do to improve my soft singing, how can I translate this technique into louder singing, and does this mean that my "loud" technique is poor?

I've received plenty compliments for my voice, and my tone is somewhat similar to Caleb Followill from Kings of Leon(in songs like On Call, Use Somebody) I never feel discomfort while singing, but after a long show I often lose my falsetto and find it harder to sustain higher notes.
Well, you shouldn't be focusing on pushing hard or using a lot of force/power to achieve a 'louder' voice anyway, so don't do that. As far as singing softly and cleanly, imagine that your voice, the air that propells it, is arcing across the roof of your mouth on its way out. This will lessen the strain on the vocal chords and produce a lighter sound - thinking of it this way, if dont right, coaxes the muscles to act differently when singing.

I think you should decide what it is to you exactly to sing softly - it can mean strong but with low volume, quiet and even, a whisper like quality instead of the more rounded, bassy tone associated with louder volume singing, the amount of force used, etc. If volume is your only concern, just use less air pressure when putting the notes out.
Do you feel warm within your cage?

And have you figured out yet -

Life goes by?
Quote by Hydra150
There's a dick on Earth, too
It's you
OK I've been taking your advice and I can see myself improving with a bit of time and practice, I hope.