Let me start with a brief musical history. I've been playing about a year, mostly fingerpicking but I have also become proficient with a pick. I'd say the hardest song I've learned is Fire and Rain by James Taylor and I had a great time learning it while also holding myself back from breaking my guitar in two.

Getting to the heart of the matter, I've been saving up for six months to upgrade to an all solid wood guitar and I have can now afford one. Lately I've been in a rut though. I'm trying to learn the General by Dispatch but the how to video's are wrong in the exact chords because I have the legit sheet music it's even more difficult than the video's. This happens with every single song and it's really turning me off to guitar.

My question to all of you is should I get the guitar? My Takamine GS330 is only really good for fingerpicking and the low action makes all the barre chords buzz like a bee hive. I'm just worried that i'm going to lose interest right as I go into this 1000 dollar investment.
yes, you should get the guitar. a new guitar is always more fun, and hearing the improved sounds you make while playing a better guitar is inspiring.

but you should also try and learn more songs and different types of songs that are a little easier for you. a challenge is good, and keeps you going, although i hope you also take the time to play the songs you already have learned just for fun.

and while a challenge can be good, a huge challenge that is really hard to overcome is not fun and makes playing no fun, and that makes one not want to play. so maybe you're just trying to jump ahead to far. if you were taking lessons in person, your teacher would not jump you so far ahead in your skills but would teach a little at a time. maybe you could try and teach yourself the same way. maybe you can find some tab or lessons online that are more in keeping with your present skills.

did you have your tak professionally set up?