I need to learn how lol, can anyone give me pointers on how to make learning songs by ear easier? or make me better? thanks!
yeah, I'm just starting to do this. But, I first just improvise over top of the song, just seeing what fits and what doesn't. Try every string, and not just one like I did when I first started out. And, then, do it with chords. Going drop D helps with this a lot. But, for solos and stuff, you are kinda on your own. Lol

As you do it, it gets so much easier. I'm no pro by any means, But I've learned almost all of our school's 'pretty guitar boy''s songs by ear. Lol
Ugh if you can't do it you should try learning some songs in other ways. Like using sheet music, then it will become easier and easier. Start with easy songs also. But understanding theory helps, because you can try a chord and be like "oh that D was too high, maybe I should try an A or B?"
If you have no understanding of theory at all, you're just guessing. You need to know your fret board like the back of your hand to play by ear. because you can't play a chord that you don't know exists.
Start simple - really easy - like work out how to play happy birthday, then move on to twinkle twinkle little star. Gradually work your way up to the stuff you want to play.
Learn intervals. Then listen really closely, and stick at it until you get it. Do this with everything, and only use tabs once you can't get any further with your ear. After a few years it should start to come naturally.
Quote by Ikonoklast
Learn intervals. Then listen really closely, and stick at it until you get it. Do this with everything, and only use tabs once you can't get any further with your ear. After a few years it should start to come naturally.

Or a few weeks if you focus on functional pitch recognition instead of intervals.