i've always dreamt about starting my own record company. i am korean american, i grew in california and i was exposed to all kinds of music from classical to a lot of underground stuff too. right now, i'm currently studying here in korea as a university student and i've decided to maybe start a record company here. the 3 major record labels here are pop, rap, and r&b focused.. rock bands here rarely succeed maybe due to cultural reasons but i also think its because of the limitations. majority of young adults here only know mainstream rock and crap.. i want to change this perspective in korea by starting my own record company.
but i was just wondering if anyone here knows anything about starting one. my friends here tell me it'll be really hard because its mostly buisness oriented than music, which i highly agree. so anyone suggestions and tips would be great!
My Axes:
Gibson Les Paul Custom
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 Telecaster
Fender 62 Stratocaster
Fender American Standard Telecaster
Quote by sketchy z
, $

ah.. what makes the world go around hahaha
i'll have to take some loans in the start i think
My Axes:
Gibson Les Paul Custom
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 Telecaster
Fender 62 Stratocaster
Before you even begin to I suggest you do some consulting to figure out how much money you're going to need, what staff you will need, etc just to make sure you know what you're getting into.
Quote by Vincent Vega
Haikus are awesome
but sometimes they don't make sense
Refrigerator

Quote by KissingShadows
People always tell me I solo like Zakk Wylde. Thats how I know that I suck.
its gunna be tough at first. no one wants to be signed to an unknown label to my knowledge(which is small lol)
You'll need a lot of money, and a lot of investors if you can't put that money upfront.

These days, a loan from the bank is quite hard to get.
Quote by TunerAddict,mdawg24
+Infinity