hi, im a pedal noob, and i want to know, how to set up my overdrivepedal properly, i've been told to run it through my lead channel with the drives turned down. but i was talking to my guitar twacher nd he said if i run it through my lead channel (on my 6505+) then itll almost like cancel each other out nd just sound like ****?

can anybody give me a heads up on what to do please
No offense, but your guitar teacher doesn't know what he's talking about.

Set the drive to 0, volume to 10, tone set to taste. Run it over your lead channel to tighten it up and add a little more oomph.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
a good way of finding things out is experimenting, try both out and see who's right.

What happens when you run your guitar through the overdrive channel is that is turns the output signal of your guitar (it's voltage) from a sine wave signal (the nice, round headed wave that you see in most drawings of waves) to a sine wave with a more messed up, staggered top (imagine a hill with a smooth top, then imagine a bunch of bulldozers ripped up the dirt on top of it, that's what it looks like). This produces the sound effect of distortion, or overdrive crunchiness. The trouble is, the overdrive channel on an amp is specifically designed so that this messing up of the signal keeps your tone and your equalization in check, and isn't all over the place. That's why you can still get a responsive, melodic sound when you are distorted.