I have a huge problem with learning cover songs. I honestly can't name one song that I have successfully covered. I am also not the kind of person that will sit down and quit after 3 minutes of trying to play a song. I have tryed countless songs usually trying to learn them for weeks at a time. I take the time to sit with just the song and usually tabs that I took of GP so that I can ensure the accuarcy of them. I can never seem to get the exact timing for a piece.

For a note I have been playing both guitar and more frequently bass for almost four years now. I am self taugh with some theory knowledge mostly just scale and chord composition. Writing music is no problem for me, I have written a lot of good songs in my years playing, many of which are inspired from messing up while trying to learn a cover.

My big question is to whether or not learning covers will hold me back as a musician, other than just being able to jam a few songs out with friends. Can anyone relate in someway to my problem and has anyone found anyway to overcome it?

-Summary-
--I can't seem to learn covers, even with hours or weeks of practice.
--Not a total guitar noob (I know basic theory, technique, and have been playing for 4 years)
--I write a lot of original material, sometimes inspired by covers that I fail at.
--Advice would be appreciated.
hmm.. What kind of songs are you trying to cover? because I guess this would be okay if you were trying to figure how to play complicated math rock songs with changing time signatures.

Do you have problems with rhythm? like you can't find the tempo for a song. This just seems like a problem someone who gives up really fast would have, but you said that you keep trying so I really don't know. The best thing i can to do is just suggest songs to learn, most of which should take no more than 30 min. or so to learn if you already have the techniques down.
Quote by HowerPower