Hey guys, I'm wondering if I could get some opinions on my current situation. Here's some background:

So I've been playing for a little over 2 years now with a really really low end Ibanez, I think it's like a G10 or GAX or something, and I'm about ready to get something new to suit me for hopefully a long time. I play a lot of metal, stuff like Metallica, Megadeth, Ozzy, Sabbath, as well as some newer stuff like Trivium. But I'd also like the guitar to do other genres as well, I enjoy my Zeppelin and AC/DC, RCHP, basically anything from clean funky stuff to nice slow melodic leads to juicy blues licks to brutal metal. Also, I currently use a Peavey Vypyr 15.

Some stuff I'd like to change from the guitar I have now is: color (it's like a solid red, people have told me they like how it looks but I personally think it's kind of lame), body shape (it's kind of more bulky in the back, I think I'd rather move over towards more of a strat shape), neck construction (it's ****ty bolt on and playing the high frets makes me wanna kill myself...).

BTW I think this is pretty close, if not the same: http://www.ibanez.com/ElectricGuitars/Series-gax

So I think I'm willing to spend around like $400-800. I've really liked the Schecter C-1 Classic, seems to be a "nice" guitar, the weighting felt comfortable, the neck through is sweet, and I think I like having 24 frets. But I feel like I should try a bunch of others to make sure I'm really getting what I want at this point. My friend really likes Jackson and active pups a lot and says I should check out some soloists next time I'm at Guitar Center, and I also think I should check out some ESP's, but overall I'm not very familiar. I've also enjoyed the Fender Strats I've played, but I kind of really want 24 frets...

Also do you think I should go for active pups or not? I don't really know too much about the subject but I feel like it's not worth the hassle for me and I'm not extremely picky about tone anyway.

Thanks in advance!