Page 1 of 2
what are some basic metal songs that i can learn. Also, what are some good techniques i should learn/want to learn to start to play faster and stronger

heres where im at

- Disturbed- the night besides the solo
- Disturbed- Inside the fire, almost all of it (but the solo sounds bad, and some of the alternate picking sucks)

and anything along that level. i need to start to move up to faster picking like

-slipknot- pyschosocial
- metallica- master of puppets
- disturbed- indestructible

-id like to learn how to alternate pick faster (i can do the tremelo picking, but not when its middle speed, like parts of the solo in unforgiven)

-i need to get my left hand to start to move around fast enough to keep up with my other hand

-i need to learn how to mute correctly (it seems like when i mute my note im actually making the note i play sharp..is this normal)

i want to start to get GOOD... ive been playing for 3 yrs and i don't think im close to where i should be.

---- im looking for good techniques, or metal songs that will help me build up to the songs i want to play
Take a look at some of the stickies.

And, if you can't do ''middle speed'' picking, then you can't do ''tremolo picking''. It might seem like you can but the lack of control/timing is covered up by speed. Learn slower things.
um, no offense, but everyone I know who plays metal has master of puppets mastered (no pun intended). if you've been playin' three years and haven't learned it yet, I would highly recommend it. it's not terribly hard, especially for someone of 3 years. get on it man!
METALLICA!!!
___________ ____________

Epiphone Les Paul
Epiphone Sunburst
Ibanez V70CENT
LINE 6 Spider III 15
Peavey Bandit 112
Jim Dunlop, Dava, First Act Picks
psssh
Speed's for losers.

Now on to the serious part: