Hello, I've been playing guitar for just about 3 years now and thinking of getting a new amp. I don't really know anything about amps and sound so I can't really describe what I'm looking for in technical terms (sorry about that). All I can say is that I play an Epiphone Les Paul Standard with little to none effects. I like full and strong clean(er) tones like Stevie Ray Vaughan, Eric Clapton and Stanley Jordan, and my all-time favourite is Brian May's powerful and smooth sound.

Sorry, I know I didn't give that much info, but if I could get some amp recommendations for at most $600, or at least a point in the right direction, it would be really helpful.

thanks!
New or is used ok?
Just home practice or gig?
Nearest major city? (for craigslist posts if used is ok)
I wondered why the frisbee was getting bigger, then it hit me.
hmmm well first you have to decide tube or solid state (SS) okay well all of those guitarist used tube....always. However most tube amps for about 600 dollars dont have totally amazing cleans. The only two good ones are really the fender blues jr. and VOX AC15, both have a nice crunch and decent cleans, far from sparkly though. Twin reverb prbly has the best cleans of any amp (its a higher end fender). I would strongly not suggest most solid states, but there are some decent ones like the roland cube etc. still clapton had some edge and i would have to say the VOX or fender or even the epi valve jr are good amps
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II(
"Epicaster" pimped out strat
Fender Blues Jr.
DeltaLab RD1 Rock distortion
Barber handmade USA Direct Drive Overdrive
DeltaLab Stereo chorus
MXR 6 band EQ
Check out the cheaper Fender tube amps: Champ, Vibrochamp, Super Champ. I have the first two, and both are VERY good. You can mic them for shows, or plug them into a Cab.