I've been playing acoustic since 2006, not really serious at it but it's good as a leisure thing. I started taking lessons last year and since my birthday is coming up I thought it might be time to get into electric, so I'm asking my parents to buy me one. I really don't know if I will end up becoming serious at guitar, like becoming a professional player or something but I will play for life, even if its just as a hobby. I just started college and still trying to find out what I really want to do.

So yesterday I was at a mall doing some grocery shopping and they had a music fair and something caught my eye. I'm not too sure if this is the one like the one they had in the fair but I searched the website and this was the only thing that came up that looked like it:
http://www.squierguitars.com/products/search.php?partno=0310001570
I know absolutely nothing about guitar specs but it looked great, feels light and had a great price. I've heard about Squier's reputation though, so later on in the afternoon I asked a friend (she's been playing longer than I have) if they're okay and she said they are, but I want to know what you guys think since people here have more experience with guitars.
*point to name and sig*

No.

BUT, don't get a bullet strat, if you can, score a classic vibe squier, those things are awesome guitars for the money
Vintage V-100, EMG 81&60
Chapman ML-1

Jet City JCA20H
For someone who is just starting out with guitar I suppose they won't know a good guitar from a bad one.

Try one out see what you think. Personally if I were you i'd go second hand.
Squiers are kind of hit and miss. Some of them are REALLY good (I own a rare Stagemaster seven-string that they put out around 2000 or so), but some of them are equally crap (read: Bullet).

The higher up you get for Squiers in price, the better quality they tend to be.

And any guitar can be really awesome if you take good care of it. And if you're willing to spend some money on your own upgrades.