I have an Epiphone Les Paul 100. I bought it about 2 months ago and I've been playing roughly 1-2 hours a day. I've noticed that the strings were getting kinda dirty, so I bought EB super slinky 9-42. The strings are on nicely, but I am getting a sharp hiss when playing. Also, I am hearing some fret buzz (but I am an amateur, so this may be my fault as well). Since the strings are a different gauge, what should I do to make the guitar sound correct?? If I had $20 to spare, I'd take it a pro, but I don't, and I'd like to learn this skill anyway. Any instructions on how to correct the problems? Note: there is a little bit of fret buzz before as well with the stock strings.

Thanks in advance!!
Hm... What do you think is causing the hiss and where is it coming from?

Since you changed the guage, your intonation is going to be off... You should refer to the set-up thread under Electric-Guitar for this, but I would recommend adjusting the intonation (twisting the little screws under each string on the bridge... I don't know what to tell you about the hissing and buzz, though... It could be that the action is too low or that the neck is bent (truss adjustment), but those things really should be done by a pro if you have no clue what you're doing...

Good luck, man! Let me know if I can help you any more...
Could be that you need to get 10's or man up and get 11's. IMO 9's on a 24.75 scale guitar are WAY too flimsy and they feel like rubber bands.
The hissing I am not sure about, but the fret buzzing could be caused by several things.