I've been playing for about two and half years, and am looking to start gigging. The problem is that I have little experience with amps beyond my Fender 15R, and because of the distance of guitar stores from my house (and the irritating pushiness of salespeople when I DO get there), I don't get much opportunity to try different ones out.

Well, here's the layout of things. I play punk, alternative, prog-metal (Coheed and Cambria mainly), classic rock... well, sort of whatever sounds good to me. Those are just the main ones. My absolute max price is $600 USD. The places I'd be playing are mainly smaller clubs and bars, and most of them have decent PA systems.

So far I've been looking at Blackheart stacks, and they look and sound amazing, but I'm not sure the 15W Handsome Devil has the power necessary. Besides that, the others I've considered are the B-52 LS100 stack, the Raven RG100H stack, the Crate FW120HS stack, or a Fender FM100 head paired with either its matching 100w cab or a Raven RG412 with 260w for more headroom.

Sorry for the three imposing blocks of text up there. Could somebody please help me out?
My heart beats in 4/4, not the other way around.

Do your part. Join TVTropes.
You're probably better off going louder than you need because you can always turn down, but there's no up from 10. Plus 100w is nothing for getting over a drummer. Trust me, I'm a drummer .

Plus if you do go for a less powerful one, you limit yourself to playing in places that only have a PA. That's bad for the wallet.
Posted from Ubuntu.

Squier Precision Bass Special in Antique Burst (LH)
Rotosound Swing 66s, 45-105

On slapping on a bass:
Quote by supersac
pretend its a woman
i have no helpful advice

Thank you. I'd heard a lot of good things about Blackheart, but I guess using one for much more than practice would mean getting the Hot Head. And my total budget doesn't even go high enough for the head.