Truth is, I've began writing a song (I'm a bassist myself planning on being vocalist too on a power trio I'm forming with a guitarist friend) and I have NO IDEA of how to write good lyrics. I don't know when they're supposed to rhyme or not, I don't know how to find a melody and/or rhythm that sound(s) good with the song and don't sound like me singing the exact melody that the instruments are playing, any tips?

What should I know about writing lyrics, about rhymes and when they should be used or not; also what should I do so what I sing sounds good and fits in the overall song, should I look for something in the instrumental parts of the song?

Please help me because, as you can see, I'm clearly lost, answers to this questions would be really appreciated as any lyric writing 101 info you could provide me.

Thanks in advance guys!

BTW, I don't know if it matters much but here's some info in case you need to know:
I play in a power trio, I'm a bassist vocalist, we're influenced by bands such as Metallica, Motörhead, Megadeth, Slayer, Mastodon, System of a Down and Black Sabbath.
Last edited by Silveroon009 at Oct 19, 2009,
Buy a Lyric-Builder,
to get a song with lyrics with a push of a button!

Come on dude, inspiration is all you need.
NRANNHLEILR
OETYSI LRNYS
TATOENYSGM
HLENEGMNRA
IL RENRAOET
NYSCOETTAT
GMAATATHLE

To me. Try, you know you want to^

Puberty
Quote by Will Swanson
I was surprised the first time I came. It shot two feet into the air. I couldn't stop laughing.
writing a song is like writing any thing else. if you keep singing a certain way then perhaps that's how you should sing. eventually that style of singing will become synanimous(that's spelled wrong) with your band.
As for the rhymes, most bands focus on putting the rhymes into the part of the song they want to be the catchy part...for most bands this is the chorus.
really though there is no proper way to write lyrics or a vocal melody. its personal preference.