okay so i've been playing guitar since june of 2008 and i've been told i've done well since i've started. i can play some solos from Alice in CHains and Soundgarden songs and play the complete songs to them. i guess i'm not to bad but i know there's people out there way better than me who have been playing guitar for the same amount of time.

now, here's my issue: my strumming. i can strum down pretty good, if not as normal as anybody else. but strumming up and doing both strumming at the same time (if you know what i mean), my pick starts to get underneath the strings and lift them up a bit and make a terrible noise as a result. i just can't get it down pat, ****!!!!

so yeah, what are some tips that can help me get better at strumming in general? should i just keep practicing the chords to the songs i play or what?

btw i'm gonna be rhythm in a jam band soon enough and so i don't wanna be the guy who can be easily replaced or played without, even these guys totally dig the riffs i make up.
Find a strum pattern from songs you like and just practice going up and down in time, slow at first and then get faster. Always start slow and work your way up.

And try not to let so much of your pick get caught under the strings, only a small portion of it should be sticking out anyways
Last edited by skomskom at Oct 20, 2009,
try to keep your thumb over as much of the pick as possible. personally, i like a quarter of an inch showing and it suits me, but thats just me
Quote by DavidsonTFP

now, here's my issue: my strumming. i can strum down pretty good, if not as normal as anybody else. but strumming up and doing both strumming at the same time (if you know what i mean), my pick starts to get underneath the strings and lift them up a bit and make a terrible noise as a result. i just can't get it down pat, ****!!!!