What are some exercises I can use to play faster? I have been playing for like 3 years (i started getting serious a little over a year ago) and I can not play anything fast for the life of me. And I don't mean speed/thrash metal fast. I mean simple licks in classic rock solos and stuff. Also, some riffs like off of the first Van Halen album. Now I personally think I have great vibrato, pretty good finger strength, and I have a good sense of time. I just can't seem to play faster stuff and when I try to improvise, my playing suffers because of it. If I am going to play a solo for hard rock I can't be playing 8th notes at 80 bpm. I know everybody says practice but I have been trying for a long time (like a year) and I have gotten nowhere
Ibanez RG270
Switch Wild I
Strat Copy

ProCo Rat Vintage RI
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez FZ7 Fuzz
Danelectro DJ-6 Phaser
Everyone has different learning curves, despite what anyone says speed comes with time IMO. The best you can do to help it is practice with a metronome gradually increasing bpm. Try different exercises or solos, anything will work, but stick with the metronome, it'll also help your precision.

^^ Great exercises in the sticky, download them, you'll get a folder with everything from speed trainers to sweep-taps.

||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||

There's no way you haven't gotten better. Guitar is one of those things that you improve at every time you pick it up. Even if you aren't faster than you were a year ago (which is doubtful), you're probably playing much cleaner, with better time, etc. Speed isn't everything. It just comes with time.
Even if you aren't faster than you were a year ago (which is doubtful), you're probably playing much cleaner, with better time, etc. Speed isn't everything. It just comes with time.