Ok I'm completely new to recording, and I need help.

The problem: There's a fast "ticking/clicking" sound when I listen to my recorded guitar. It stop when I stop playing, but starts again when I play.

I'll try to be as specific as I can about my situation...

My set-up is:
Guitar > Vox AC15 (Master 11o'clock, gain 9o'clock) > MXL 990 Condenser Mic (about 10cm away from the amp) > M-Audio USB Fast Track Pro > Cakewalk Sonar 8 Producer Edition.
I listen to what I've recorded with a JBL headphones, which are plugged into the Fast Track.

On Sonar 8, the dB meter usually varies between -18 and about -8 dB.

I tried: lowering my amp's volume, tweaking the track's volume and trim, tweaking the master's volume

If you need more info to help me, please tell me what it is so I may give it to you!

What do you think could be the problem? What should I do to fix it?...

Thanks!
Thats the metronome that is standard on all DAWS. You can shut it off by going to Options>Project>Metronome and uncheck both Playback and Recording. You should keep it though it can only help
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Squier Classic Vibe Tele
Fulltone Clyde Wah
Fulltone OCD
Fulltone Deja Vibe
Fuzz Factory
Carbon Copy

Boutique Marshall-Style 50watt amp head
Orange 2x12
No it's not the metronome, I'm sure of it. I turned it off...

I don't know how to describe the noise. It's a tick, but not a metronome's tick. It's pretty fast.
Any way you could get it recorded and post it so I can try to help more? It MAY be latency issues but I can't be sure. What kind of computer are you using?
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Squier Classic Vibe Tele
Fulltone Clyde Wah
Fulltone OCD
Fulltone Deja Vibe
Fuzz Factory
Carbon Copy

Orange 2x12
I'll try uploading it tomorrow

I'm running Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit, 4gig RAM, Intel Core i7 processor
Do you hear the ticking noise when you hit the record button, without anything being recorded? Or is it only during play back?