Page 1 of 2
Just an interesting point of discussion. Most players go through a large change of some sort through their career regardless of their instrument; it'd be cool to know what everyone has done or gone through.

I started playing as a big hard rock kind of guy, interested in becoming some shredder who could just blaze around the fretboard. Once I started playing jazz, I evolved a great deal: I moved towards blues and rock, moved from craving an EMG-laden ESP to owning an MIA Strat, and biggest of all, went from playing exclusively with a pick to now playing mostly with my fingers.
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
Went from playing heavy metal to HEAVIER METAL!!!
Quote by LivinJoke84
I cant be naked. I have a huge fear of leaving a stain wherever i sit. Especially if its really warm
my pick-holding evolved from thumb and two fingers to somewhat of a fist and now correct-ish
Quote by Kevy Absolution
Just an interesting point of discussion. Most players go through a large change of some sort through their career regardless of their instrument; it'd be cool to know what everyone has done or gone through.

I started playing as a big hard rock kind of guy, interested in becoming some shredder who could just blaze around the fretboard. Once I started playing jazz, I evolved a great deal: I moved towards blues and rock, moved from craving an EMG-laden ESP to owning an MIA Strat, and biggest of all, went from playing exclusively with a pick to now playing mostly with my fingers.

I dont know of one person that hasnt said jazz has improved their playing, including me. Jazz has greatly increased my ability and has become a small part of my style.
I think another big change was that initially I was a punk guitarist, pretty much a 3-4 chord song with a basic guitar riff kinda guy.