Page 1 of 2
Hey guys. I've asked this question on a few different sites and nobody has given me a straight answer. I hope you guys can help

Okay so I've never really played metal or anything along those lines, but this year I joined a hardcore band that does a lot of August Burns Red covers and stuff like that. A Day To Remember....along those lines. I'm a good guitarist, but my Epiphone Dot doesn't cut it for that stuff too well.

I've got two guitars in mind for christmas and they both look pretty good.

Ibanez MTM2 - Fixed bridge, Ibanez V7 and v8 PUs. Pretty cool looking - $600
and
LTD Mh-401- Floyd Rose Special bridge, EMG 81,85, Quilted Maple. - $700

both of these guitars sound pretty nice but from the youtube vids I think the LTD sounds nicer. Could just be a better amp though....idk. I play a lot of lead so I'm looking for sustain .

Which do you think is better? Any help would be appreciated.

EDIT*

Oh also If you guys think you have a better guitar in mind under 800, I'd be glad to hear your opinion. I'm up for suggestions
Team Up
Team Up
Last edited by Circambria at Oct 21, 2009,
Go with the LTD. Better overall, and the EMG set is nice.
Quote by satanicgurrl
Is this amazing? Could it be?
This newly posted mp3

Quoth the server "4 0 3"

Official Gain Wh0re

Gear:

• ESP LTD EC-1000 Black Cherry
  • Hartke LH500 Full Stack
  • Line 6 Pod HD Pro
I'd say the ESP, you may want to floyd if you do leads. More importantly want amp are you useing?
Gear:
Ernie Ball MusicMan JP7
Schecter Hellraiser 006
Mesa Boogie Road King s.2
Mesa Boogie 4x12 Recto cab

Ibanez Keeley TS-9
TC Electronics G-Force
Amp Gizmo
Voodoo Labs GCX
Voodoo Labs Ground Control Pro
The LTD has EMGs which are apparently pretty kickass for metal. But beware if you have no experience changing strings on a guitar with a Floyd Rose.
Q: Favourite Pink Floyd song?
A: The one where they get wicked high and play Emin and A for an hour.