Hi,
i have a 6505 and wanna tighten up the sound, maybe get a bit more bottom end, but just tighter in general if ya know what i mean, i was thinking either an EQ or OD, which do you think would be more beneficial? or if you have any other suggestion to help me that would be great
You'd definitely benefit from something like a tubescreamer. Gain all the way down, level up high.
Fender Highway 1 Strat
Agile Septor Pro 725

Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Axe-Fx Ultra

Trust me, I'm a medical student
Tube screamer?
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
Leave the gain at about 4, put a decimator in the effects loop

Keeps the soiund gainy enough but without sounding too distorted

that's what my band di on these recordings on our site:

www.myspace.com/thedirtyyouth

EDIT: Use the "normal gain" input
Fender Jim Root Signature Telecaster
Martin Westside Custom Edition
Peavey 6505
Peavey XXX Cab
ISP Decimator Prorack G
Sennheiser EW172 G3
Sennheiser wireless IEM
Ibanez TS9DX
Boss TU-2 Tuner
MY BAND:
http://www.myspace.com/thedirtyyouth
i have a boss NS-2 running out front and in the effects loop, if i put my gain at 4 it really seems to lack in something :S
Quote by jamesy_pwd
i have a boss NS-2 running out front and in the effects loop, if i put my gain at 4 it really seems to lack in something :S

i have my 6505's gain at 2.5 and i boost it with a tube screamer with the gain on 0 and the level on 10. this is plently of gain for me, a bit lessthan the usual 6505 user but it gives me a tight clear and defined sound.
try dialing back the gain and bosting the amp, you will hear marvelous results
EDIT: i play all kinds of metal and sometimes hardcore with these settings. even death metal, it can be done.
Last edited by samlocke14 at Oct 21, 2009,
Quote by samlocke14