Alright, so I'm thinking about ditching my T5 for a Telecaster. Problem is that I dont know which one to go for because there are so many models!

I'm deffinitely looking for a high quality one. Not a $4000 heavy relic or anything, but around $1200-1500 max. I play indie rock, modern country pop kinda stuff.

The looks of it is going to be important as well. Im not a fan of the black ones with a brownish burst and I dont want anything sparkly.

I'm thinking either a light blue one (but I've only seen that color available on MIM's) or a white one.

There was a guitar player that I saw at a show who had a white one, but there were 2 red stripes going diagonally across the the corner of the body and I thought that looked cool. Idk if that was a custom job or if Fender makes models like that.

I've looked into G&L stuff, but nothing caught my eye.

I'd like a nice breakdown of what tele's are great guitars right out of the box or with minimal set up. I have no knowledge of pickups and would like to know which ones come with a really great set of pickups or which ones to replace the stock ones with if I dont like them. Any help is really appreciated, im sorry im so guitarded its just that this is the first time I've ever given a nice pure electric guitar a thought since I've been doing the acoustic thing for so long.
-----------------------------------------------------------

Dr. Z Stangray
G&L ASAT Classic (Ron Kirn Custom T-Style coming soon! ronkirn.com)
Keeley 4 Knob Compressor
Taylor 314ce
American Standard or Deluxe, maybe. Can't go wrong. Plus, the three tone sunburst on the deluxe is sexy.
Schecter Stiletto Studio 5
Ibanez SRX2EX1
Gallien Krueger 1001rbii
Gallien Krueger Neo 410