I'm thinking about getting an acoustic/electric, hollowbody, semi-hollow or solidbody electric 12-string to play in my church, and I posted this thread in the Electric Forum. One poster thinks I might have more luck posting in this Forum.

Instead of just reposting the whole thread, here's the link.

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1219771

Thanks in advance for whatever advice you can give me!
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
One thing I'm not trying to do is get the 12 to the fore of the sound. With 3 pros already in the band, I'd far and away be the last to be the focal point. Heck, most of the solo work falls on the pianist!

Of the electrics, I'm leaning less towards solidbodies and more towards hollow or semi-hollow, overall. I haven't seen too much of the solidbody 12s that impressed me.

But the acoustics aren't out of the running, to be sure.

I've owned a Caddy Green Ovation Elite (deep bowl) for...jeeze...15 years? And I love it- bright, resonant, etc., and I came close to buying a Seagull some years ago for its warmth. The only reason I bought a Yamaha instead is that the particular Seagull I wanted was backordered more than 6 months, and the Yamaha was reeeaaaaly what I needed at the time.

In part, I'm concerned about the size of the acoustics- I'm a bit hefty- but also about tone. An acoustic 12 might sort of blend in too much with the other acoustics- a hollow or semihollow 12 would blend in a little but still add a different tonal character to the mix.

Here's a question- the space I'd be playing in, if I do this, is HUGE. The 2 guitar players use acoustics- a Larivee and (I believe) a Taylor- through the system, but since we're going through a system to serve the space, wouldn't an electric handle it better?